The High-flying Dutchman

Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk poses with his PFA Player of the Year award

On This Day In 2019, 27-year-old Liverpool centre-back Virgil van Dijk won the 2018/2019 Professional Footballers’ Association Men’s Players’ Player of the Year award. The Dutchman beat the likes of Sergio Aguero, Bernardo Silva, Sadio Mane, Eden Hazard and Raheem Sterling to clinch the award, becoming the first defender to win the award since Chelsea captain John Terry in 2004/2005 season. It was the second season in a row that a Liverpool player has won the award with Mohamed Salah unsurprisingly picking up the title at the end of the 2017/2018 Premier League season.

The former Celtic defender was also the seventh Liverpool player to win the award. It could be recalled that no opposition player has dribbled past the Dutch defender in any of his 36 league appearances that season.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.